Disappointing repeat recipe

Last night I had a disappointing g-free baking experience. Two weeks ago I took a vegan banana apple chunk bread I found on Pinterest (http://www.fitsugar.com/Recipe-Low-Fat-Vegan-Banana-Apple-Chunk-Bread-17517646) and on the fly decided to try it gluten-free. I looked in my cupboard and realized I didn’t have enough of one flour for the recipe, but did have a few that combined would equal the right amount. So I gave it a try, and it turned out to be awesome! The banana bread didn’t last more than a couple of days in our house.

So last night I attempted to repeat the recipe, except this time I had replenished my g-free flour so only used one brand. The result was quite disappointing. Although I followed the recipe, did almost exactly what I did before, it turned out quite differently. This time the bread was heavier and quite sticky. While the flavor was okay, the texture was a lot different from before. I am interested in trying the recipe again tonight but this time using a different brand of g-free flour, or again trying to just combine a couple. A happy accident the first time has turned into a frustrating second try since I have no idea how much of each flour I used in the first combination. Urg!

Leave a comment